top of page

EatRetreat: Day 2

[Disclaimer: If it's before August 24th, this post probably isn't that great. I'm really tired. I took hella notes all day though so I'm going to beef this up and add more pictures and stuff when I get home. So maybe come back soon? :) ]

Anyway.

Today was insanely awesome. I'm going to elaborate more on exactly what we did later, but right now I'm at a point where I have to wake up in about 6 hours to help make breakfast for like 50 people. SO for now I will leave you with a simple list of things I learned today.

  • Mushrooms are largely depended on rainfall and the trees that grow in an area. You can't identify mushrooms without being able to identify trees.

  • Green Coffee Extract is a by-product of decaffeinating coffee using water. It kinda tastes like grass but you can isolate the caffeine from it which is kinda neat.

  • Coffee should be consumed within 2-3 weeks of roasting for optimum flavor.

  • Fig jam is f**king amazingly delicious on everything, always.

  • Food styling is a really time-intensive art form and involves a lot of berry-choosing

  • Food's gonna do what food's gonna do. Deal with it.

  • Umami is loose glutamates.

  • MSG sensitivity/allergy isn't a thing. Apparently it's the sulfites of the food world.

  • I do enjoy soy sauce in small doses but I am decidedly not a fish sauce kinda person at this time in my life.

  • Mezcal is a taste I am beginning to acquire. Slowly.

  • Fileting a salmon isn't as scary as I thought or hard as it looks!

  • Neither is curing salmon roe!!

  • Neither is sharpening a knife with a whetstone!!!!

  • Amakaze is freakin delish.

  • So is creole and cajun cuisine. Also, those are not interchangeable terms.

  • Food people are the best people. I mean I didn't learn that today, it's just a true fact that came up a lot. So there you go.

And that's all I've got for right now. Stay tuned. Sweet dreams, winos!

Love and whiskey barrel-aged shoyu,

-D

bottom of page